M. Bruch and F. Mendelssohn-Bartholdy

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Bruch · Mendelssohn

Max Bruch and Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy

Sabrina-Vivian Höpcker plays Max Bruch and Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy.


Max Bruch (1838-1920)
Scottish Fantasy, op.46

Introduction: Grave – Adagio cantabile 8:33
Allegro 6:13
Andante sostenuto 6:36
Finale: Allegro guerriero 7:26

Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie · Edwin Outwater

Felix Mendelssohn-Batholdy (1809-1847)
Violin Concerto in E minor, op.64

Allegro molto appassionato 13:05
Andante 9:14
Allegretto non troppo 0:58
Allegro molto vivace 5:55

Göttinger Symphonie Orchester · Martin Brauß


Total Time: 58:00 Minutes


joachim_kaiserThe playing of Sabrina-Vivian Höpcker is beguiling in its blend of reserve and bravura, tender restraint and intoxicating spirit.

The opening phrases of the Mendelssohn Concerto in E minor as she plays them are intimately demure rather than bombastic, making the climaxes all the more vehement and logical.

The interpreter is never content with a mere passive, unfulfilled or empty piano; nor does she ever offer an uncontrolled fortissimo.

Certain moments in Max Bruch's Scottish Fantasy sound so convincing, one could be persuaded that they are even much more beautiful than Bruch's popular Concerto in G minor.

Joachim Kaiser

thestrad„…Sabrina-Vivian Höpcker has established a place for herself among today´s gifted young German violinists…”

Mendelssohn, e-Minor violin concerto: “It is a youthful account that dashes into the virtuoso moments, and then settles back to savour passages of beauty at leisure. I much enjoy the tonal elegance of the slow movement…”

Bruch, Scottish Fantasy: “… her unhurried tempos showing a sensitive performer of great potential.

The highlight is Höpcker´s fiery and vivacious finale that showcases an admirable technique with nice crunchy cords.”

David Denton, „The Strad“

Order directly:

amazon jpc